Games Learning Resources Visit the Museum
America on the Move
Collection Exhibition Themes
BackSearch
Lozier radiator emblem
Catalog #: 325,528, Accession #: 260,303
Currently on display
From the Smithsonian Collection
The Lozier company manufactured bicycles before branching out to automobiles. Lozier experimented with designs and styles for three years, including the building of a steam car, before producing its first auto. Lozier had a reputation for very high quality and was favored by wealthy, conservative buyers. In 1911 when chief designer Frederick C. Chandler left the company with two engineers to start his own firm, Lozier's sales began to fall. Lozier responded by cutting prices and trying to negotiate a take over with Ford, but the company had to close in 1917.
Physical Description

Dimensions (in mm): 4.0 L x 5.2 W x .4 D

Inscriptions: LOZIER

Materials: metal

Colors: silver, white, blue, red

Details
Dates Used:
1905 - 1917
Locations:
New York
Note:
Plattsburg, New York
Credit:
Gift of Hubert G. Larson
History
Radiator emblems were colorful metal plates with a manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, but never more than a few inches across, the emblems were small branding devices. As vehicles became more popular in a national market, people began associating the company name and logo on different vehicle models with a specific manufacturer. Radiator emblems sometimes indicated the type of engine or place of manufacturing. Other times they appealed directly to a driver’s sense of style and class by using iconic images or a catchy motto.
Related People, Places, and Events
Donor
Hubert G. Larson
In 1964 Hubert G. Larson donated a collection of 278 radiator emblems to the Smithsonian.


National Museum of American History About This Site | Sponsors | Buy the Book | E-mail Signup | Credits