The Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, Behring Center dedicates this effort to the victims, survivors, and rescuers of September 11, 2001.

September 11: Bearing Witness to History is made possible by the generous support of many individuals and organizations. The National Museum of American History gratefully acknowledges their contributions to the exhibition.

Exhibition Patrons

Susan and Elihu Rose
The History Channel
Smithsonian Institution Special Exhibition Fund
National Association of Realtors
Ruth and Leonard Litwin
Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation
The Crown Family
Long & Foster Real Estate, Inc.
Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP
C. Forbes, Inc.

Exhibition Partners

ABC News
September 11 Digital Archive (, organized by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the American Social History Project at the City University of New York Graduate Center

Lenders to the Exhibition

George W. Bush, President of the United States of America
The Family of Captain Robert E. Dolan
Wendy Doremus and the Family of William G. Biggart
Museum of the City of New York
Battalion Chief Joseph W. Pfeifer, FDNY
The County of Somerset, Somerset, Pennsylvania, honoring the passengers and crew of Flight 93
U.S. Army Center of Military History
U.S. Department of the Navy, Naval Historical Center

My Witness Exhibition Participants

Nahid Abbasi
Barbara Black
Captain Craig Borgstrom
Bob Boyle
Julie Donofrio
Matthew Farley
Holley Fine
Paul Fine
John Frankenstein
William Frankenstein
Peter Frankland
Beatriz Susana Genoves
Lyz Glick
Melody Graham
Officer Isaac Ho‘opi‘i
Stacy Horn
Liz Howell
Aisha Khan
Steve Kirby
Louise Kurtz
Mike Kurtz
Renee Levine
Sarah Loffman
Michael Martin
Ariel Meyerowitz
Joel Meyerowitz
Major Cheryl Miller
Ethan Moses
Hector Motroni
Pamela Moye
Katherine Murphy
Alexis Owen
Karen Patterson
Carol Platt
Ember Rilleau
Leroy Sievers and the Nightline Staff
Nikki Silva
Master Sergeant David E. Somdahl
Nikki Stern
Ann Scott Tyson
John Vigiano

Exhibition Special Thanks

Chief William H. Allee, NYPD
Allmetal Fabricators, Inc.
American Red Cross
Carol Anderson-Austra
Andrea Booher, FEMA
Khue D. Bui
Bybee Stone Company
Chief C. T. Campbell, Fort Myer Fire Department
Michael Collarone
Doug Cotton
Daryl Donley and Photo Associates News Service
Eric Draper
Sandra L. Dutson
Chip East
Fannon Color Printing
Danny Wilcox Frazier
Kim Friedline
David Friend
Gamma Presse, Inc.
Bruce Geyman
Rudolph W. Giuliani
Sergeant Major Alfred Grigler
Susan Hamilton
Boyd E. Harden
Hargrove, Inc.
Infinite Photo & Imaging, Inc.
Sivan Iyer
Commissioner Raymond W. Kelly, NYPD
Christina M. Kinney
The Kitchen Sisters (Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva)
Richard Kurin
Edward T. Linenthal
Sergeant Dominick Longo, NYPD
Daniel J. Lyons
Walter Markham
Valencia McClatchey
Terry McCrea
Joe McNally
Howard Milstein
National Institute of Standards and Technology
National Park Service
New York City Fire Museum
New York Historical Society
New York State Museum
Captain Stephen O’Brien
Office of Emergency Management-City of New York
Output Printing & Graphics
Dane Penland
Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Lieutenant Colonel Cortez Puryear
The Record (Bergen County, N.J.)
Rich & Associates
Amanda Schmidt
Commissioner Nicholas Scoppetta, FDNY
Seagate Technology
Second Story Interactive Studios
David Sharp
Somerset Historical Center
Pete Souza
Sergeant Robert Spitzbarth, NYPD
Richard Strauss
Detective Michael Taccetta, NYPD
Hugh Talman
The Times of Trenton, N.J.
Jeff Tinsley
Martin Trail
United Airlines
U.S. Army Military District of Washington, Directorate of Ceremonies and Special Events Office
United States Congress
U.S. Department of Defense
Office of the Secretary of Defense, Historical Office
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Anthony Venezia
Visual Impressions
Alan Wallace
The Washington Post
The Washington Times
Nikki Weavers
Mark Wertheimer
The White House
Kim Williams
Malcolm Yunker, Bienville Photography

The National Collection

The National Museum of American History gratefully acknowledges the following individuals and organizations for their donations to the September 11 collection.

Esther Allen and the Greenwich Village School
American Airlines
Andrea Arroyo
Richard Avedon
Maria Cecilia Benavente
Roe Bianculli-Taylor
Bob Boyle
James S. Connor
Jon Culberson
Stephen Delroy
Jan Demczur
G. Penny Elgas
Epson America, Inc.
Neil Farkas
Matthew Farley
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Fire Department-City of New York
C. Forbes, Inc.
Michael Garcia
Michelle D. Guyton
Holly Guzowski
Annette Harris
Jarrell N. Henson
Officer Isaac Ho‘opi‘i
Major Warren Hoy
Hugo Neu Schnitzer East
Michael Hurley
John Labriola
Lisa Lefler
Seymour Levy
Donn Marshall
Terrence C. McCormick
Morgan Stanley
Gédéon Naudet
Jules Naudet
New York State Police K-9 Unit
Nextel Communications
Night Sky Windows LLC
Hilary North, in Memory of Mayra Valdes-Rodriguez
Theodore B. Olson, Solicitor General of the United States
Battalion Chief Joseph W. Pfeifer, FDNY
Police Department-City of New York
Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Police Department
Douglas Potoksky
Charles A. Reimer
Harry R. Rubenstein
Sanborn Colorado LLC
Trooper Richard M. Scranton
Tim Shaffer
Karen Simon, Simon Design
Mark Skipper
Suka & Friends Design
Lieutenant Commander David Tarantino
Captain David M. Thomas Jr.
Trinity Church
U.S. Department of Defense
Fort Myer Fire and Emergency Services Division
Joint Personal Effects Depot, Fort Myer
Office of the Secretary of Defense, Pentagon Renovation Program
Washington Headquarters Services, Pentagon Federal Facilities Division
U.S. Department of Justice
Antonio Nino Vendome
Colonel Mark Volk
John W. Warner, United States Senator from Virginia
Major Andrew L. Williams
Albert Wood
Major General John R. Wood
Priscilla Wood
Dennis Young


Content developed by the staff of the National Museum of American History

NMAH production team:

Patrick Brown 
Dennis Comerford
Judith Gradwohl
Amelia Liebhold
Matt MacArthur
Joan Mentzer
Katherine L. Morton
C. W.  Prather
Janet Rockenbaugh
Emily Smith

Special thanks to the Smithsonian Web Manager's Office for technical support

Designed and produced by Second Story Interactive Studios.

Aleen Adams
Julie Beeler
David Brewer
Seb Chevrel
Brad Johnson
Gabe Kean
David Waingarten